Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Gotta be you

    Gotta Be You 

 (by:One Direction)

"Gotta Be You"
Single by One Direction
from the album Up All Night
B-side "Another World"
Released 11 November 2011
Format CD single, digital download
Genre Pop rock
Length 4:05
Label Syco, Sony
Writer(s) August Rigo, Steve Mac
Producer Steve Mac
One Direction singles chronology
"What Makes You Beautiful"
"Gotta Be You"
"Wishing on a Star"
Music video
"Gotta Be You" on YouTube

"Gotta Be You" is a song by English-Irish boy band One Direction, from their debut studio album Up All Night (2011). It was released as the album's second single by Syco Records on 11 November 2011. Written by August Rigo and Steve Mac, and produced by Mac, "Gotta Be You" is a pop rock ballad. The music video for "Gotta Be You" was filmed in Lake Placid, New York and at the State University of New York at Plattsburgh, October 2011, and premiered on 8 November 2011. The single peaked at number three on the Irish and UK Singles Chart, becoming One Direction's second top ten single on both charts.


Background and release

The song was written by August Rigo and Steve Mac, and it was produced by Mac. One Direction confirmed "Gotta Be You" to be released as the album second single on 19 October 2011.[1] The artwork was revealed on 20 October 2011.[2] "Gotta Be You" was released via digital download[3] on 11 November 2011 and 13 November 2011 in Ireland and the United Kingdom, respectively.


According to the sheet music published by EMI Music Publishing, "Gotta Be You" is a pop rock song set in common time with a tempo of 85 beats per minute. Written in the key of Ab major; vocal elements range from the note of Eb4 to Eb6.[4]

Critical reception

Robert Copsey of Digital Spy praised the song's catchy chorus, and rated it four out of five stars.[5] Cosmopolitan's Sarah Kwong lauded the lyrics and instrumentation of "Gotta Be You" and its appeal to a more mature audience.[6]

Chart performance

"Gotta Be You" debuted and peaked at number three on the Irish Singles Chart, dated 17 November 2011. In the UK, "Gotta Be You" sold substantially less than One Direction's first single "What Makes You Beautiful", selling 59,461 copies in its first week.[7] Despite the single reaching number one on the mid-week chart update, it entered the official UK Singles Chart on 20 November 2011 at number three behind the seventh week sales of Rihanna's "We Found Love" and the release of Flo Rida's "Good Feeling". As of 2 August 2012, the song is One Direction's third best-selling song in the UK, behind "What Makes You Beautiful" and One Thing.[8]

Music video

The music video was shot in Lake Placid, New York
The music video for "Gotta Be You" was filmed in Lake Placid, New York and at State University of New York at Plattsburgh,[9] October 2011. The music video premiered on 8 November 2011 to accompany the release of "Gotta Be You" and was first released on YouTube, at a total length of three minutes and fifty-six seconds.[10]
The video starts with Liam Payne singing and Louis Tomlinson and Zayn Malik walking out of a school with bags. Niall Horan is playing the guitar in some shots. Harry Styles walks through the campus while singing, Tomlinson sings while driving a Mini Cooper and Malik is travelling by a train. The five boys end up meeting with girls in a camping spot in the forest. Malik starts singing to his love while fireworks are bursting in the background. Then all of them watch the fireworks. The music video ends as Malik walks towards the girl and kisses her.

Live performances

Zayn Malik performing "Gotta Be You" on One Direction's Up All Night Tour.
On 13 November 2011, One Direction performed the single for the first time on The X Factor's eight series week six results show.[11] The group performed the song on 18 November 2011, to open telethon Children in Need 2011.[12] One Direction performed "Gotta Be You" live on Capital FM's Jingle Bell Ball on 4 December 2011, at The O2 Arena.[13]
One Direction also performed the song on their first headlining concert tour, the Up All Night Tour (2011—12).[14] After the performance of "Moments", "Gotta Be You" was performed as the sixth song on the setlist, in the second segment of the show's synopsis.[15]

Track listing

  • Digital download
  1. "Gotta Be You" – 4:05
  2. "Another World" (Achraf Jannusi, Bilal Hajji, Eric Sanicola, Geo Slam, RedOne, Teddy Sky) – 3:23
  3. "Gotta Be You" (Steve Smart & Westfunk Remix) – 6:17
  4. "Gotta Be You" (Mojam Remix) – 3:23
  • CD single
  1. "Gotta Be You" – 4:05
  2. "Another World" – 3:23


Chart (2011) Peak
Ireland (IRMA)[16] 3
Scotland (Official Charts Company)[17] 2
UK Singles (Official Charts Company)[18] 3
US Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles (Billboard)[19] 24

Release history

Region Date Format Label
Ireland[20] 11 November 2011 Digital download Syco Music, Sony Music
United Kingdom[21] 13 November 2011
Australia[22] 14 November 2011 CD single


  1. ^ http://www.clickonline.com/gossip/one-directions-new-single--got-to-be-you/3740/
  2. ^ http://www.onedirectionmusic.com/gb/news/entry/gotta_be_you_artwork/
  3. ^ "One Direction Unveil Second Single 'Gotta Be You'". MTV News. MTV Networks. Retrieved 15 March 2012.
  4. ^ "One Direction – Gotta Be You Sheet Music". Musicnotes.com (EMI Music Publishing). Retrieved 3 January 2012.
  5. ^ Copsey, Robert (13 November 2011). "One Direction: 'Gotta Be You' - Single review". Digital Spy. www.digitalspy.co.uk/. Retrieved 3 January 2012.
  6. ^ "Cosmo reviews: One Direction, Gotta Be You". Cosmopolitan (Hearst Corporation). 10 November 2011. Retrieved 3 January 2012.
  7. ^ http://www.musicweek.com/story.asp?sectioncode=1&storycode=1047553&c=1 Musicweek Chart analysis Alan Jones 09:29 Monday November 21, 2011
  8. ^ Dan Lane (2 August 2012). "One Direction sell 12 million singles, albums and DVD and Blu-rays worldwide". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 2 August 2012.
  9. ^ "This One Direction video was shot this fall on the SUNY Plattsburgh...". Retrieved 30 August 2012.
  10. ^ "One Direction - Gotta Be You". YouTube.
  11. ^ "The X Factor: Swoon alert! It's One Direction - The X Factor 2011 Live Results Show 6 -". YouTube.
  12. ^ "Record £26m for Children in Need". BBC News. 19 November 2011. Retrieved 3 January 2012.
  13. ^ http://www.capitalfm.com/artists/one-direction/news/fan-tears-jingle-bell-ball/
  14. ^ "One Direction Launch 'Up All Night' UK Tour In Wolverhampton". Capital FM. Global Radio. 22 December 2012. Archived from the original on 8 April 2012. Retrieved 8 April 2012.
  15. ^ Futterman, Erica (27 May 2012). "One Direction Make a Play For Longevity on First American Headlining Tour". Rolling Stone (Jann Wenner). Retrieved 11 May 2012.
  16. ^ "Chart Track". Irish Singles Chart. Irish Recorded Music Association.
  17. ^ "Archive Chart". Scottish Singles Top 40. Official Charts Company.
  18. ^ "Archive Chart" UK Singles Chart. Official Charts Company.
  19. ^ http://www.billboard.biz/bbbiz/charts/chart-search-results/singles/14079897
  20. ^ "Gotta Be You - EP by One Direction". iTunes.
  21. ^ "Gotta Be You - EP by One Direction". iTunes.
  22. ^ "Gotta Be You - CD Single by One Direction". Fishpond.


Post a Comment